Podcasts About WordPress

Raanan wrote an excellent article about podcasting with WordPress using PodPress. Here I’m going to flip it around and discuss podcasts about WordPress.

The first is The WordPress Podcast hosted by Charles Stricklin and a rotation of co-hosts. Started in July of 2006, this is the most popular and longest running podcast dedicated to WordPress news. Charles is also one of the organizers of WordCamp Dallas at the end of March. Recently the frequency of shows has greatly increased.

Maybe influencing the regularity of The WordPress Podcast is a little friendly competition from the new WordPress Weekly. Started the beginning of this year, it is hosted by regular Weblog Tools Collection blogger Jeff Chandler (Jeffro2pt0) and is a live weekly call in show on Talkshoe.com.

They compliment my other sources of WordPress news, and even when I don’t have time to listen to the podcast right away, each provide excellent show notes.

4 thoughts on “Podcasts About WordPress

  1. Firs off Lloyd, thank you very much for the link. I really appreciate it. And as you hinted earlier in the article, the official WordPress Podcast was my inspiration to do my own show. I love the official WordPress Podcast, but I hated the fact that I only got to listen to the show once a month and I simply wanted more WordPress! (MoreCowbell?) So, I came up with an idea, asked some people within the WordPress community to join me and so far, its turning out to be a success. Every Friday is turning into a virtual WordCamp which is pretty cool.

    I’ll admit, the podcast far from being anything professional in terms of audio quality, production, the way the show runs, ect. But it doesn’t seem to be bothering most of the listeners.

    Knowing that you’re listening to the show may be a good reason to up my game and make the show more professional, or not :)

  2. I personally love both of you, including lloyd and the rest of the core team. I don’t always have time to read every subversion commit or WordPress blog, so it is good to get everything that matters in an easy format. It is easier to listen, than to read sometimes and allows me to do other stuff.

  3. Pingback: WordPress Weekly Episode 8 | Jeffro2pt0

Comments are closed.