WordPress for LinkedIn

Today we’re happy to announce the launch of the WordPress App for LinkedIn, the largest online network for professionals.

The WordPress App for LinkedIn helps you share ideas and updates with your LinkedIn network, keeping your trusted contacts in the loop, effortlessly.

To add the WordPress App to your LinkedIn account, visit the LinkedIn Application Directory. Select the WordPress App, enter your blog’s URL, and choose to display either all of your blog posts or just those tagged with “LinkedIn.” Save, and you’re all set!

Now your network will be notified when you post something new to your WordPress.com or self-hosted WordPress.org blog. Your WordPress avatar will automatically display alongside the top post (we, of course, suggest you use Gravatar for that).

You can opt to display your WordPress blog on your LinkedIn Profile and your LinkedIn Homepage, where it’ll display as a drag-and-drop module in the right-hand column.

The WordPress App for LinkedIn is built on Open Social and is open source. If you don’t already have a LinkedIn account, head here to try it out.

39 thoughts on “WordPress for LinkedIn

  1. Pingback: WordPress App for LinkedIn | wordpressguru.eu

  2. Great news especially if you don’t want to get stuck with following a rss feed in a reader. This way everyone will be notified no matter what.

  3. Pingback: WordPress Application Now Available for LinkedIn | WordPress Hacks

  4. Pingback: WordPress Apps for LinkedIn — Orangescale.NET / Thomas Arie Setiawan

  5. Pingback: WordPress App for LinkedIn | Wordpress Blog NL

  6. Raanan, when I put my (self-hosted) blog url into the application, none of my blog posts with “LinkedIn” tag appear, and when I edit the application again, the url is then ‘/’ instead of the one I entered… my blog is http://words.timsworlds.com, I’ve put it in with and without the http://… I’m not sure what’s going on…

  7. Pingback: Wordpress Linked to LinkedIn » Tim’s Words

  8. Same question as Syamant (two comments up). Is it possible to add a self-hosted blog via this app? If not, will this be supported in the future?

  9. Pingback: WordPress + LinkedIn = $$$gUaP$$$ !!! | ShawnDrewry.com

  10. Pingback: WordPress за LinkedIn

  11. Pingback: The NMP Network : WordPress Report For The Week Of October 31st 2008

  12. First of all, great app! I had a few problems at first – it seemed to install but wasn’t showing any posts – but now it’s working fine. I have one issue though: the app shows my three most recent posts, with the first five lines of text from each one. Then it shows half of the title line of the fourth post. The title is clickable but not really legible. This is more of an aesthetic problem than a functionality problem, but was wondering if anyone else experiences the same thing, and whether it’s been flagged as an issue.

  13. This is absolutely great! I am a heavy LinkedIn user and this is perfect. I tried it and it works well… Now I have asked the good folks at LinkedIn to allow users to use that app more than once. I know quite a few people who keep several blogs going and it would be great to be able to showcase at least two blogs.

  14. Nice app and concept. However, I don’t want to bother my contacts every time I blog so an option of turning off the automatic notification would be nice.

  15. Pingback: WordPress App for LinkedIn | WordPress Hosting - Sementeria

  16. @Matt
    I have the same problem : only my last 3 posts appear, and I can’t go through the other ones.
    Have you found something to make it work finally?

  17. Is it possible to switch off the automatic notification that gets sent across one’s network when a new post is added? I would add the application to my LinkedIn profile, but I do not want my contacts to be bothered by notification of new posts! Thanks.

  18. I am also having the same issue. I have my self-hosted wordpress blog and the application in linkedin does not recognize my url.

  19. A bit more customisation would be nice indeed. Plus, the WordPress application pane doesn’t show up when viewing my profile in Safari 4 Beta. Works well in Safari 3 and Firefox (all on Mac by the way). Don’t know who to contact about this.

  20. cheers Raanan .. nice, but a shame one can only show posts from any one blog. BlogLink shows more but for some reason I'm having problems with a .es blog showing up.

    .. still searching for a catch-all solution!

    • @the_guv — thanks for the feedback. To be clear, do you want to show posts from 2 or more blogs in one module ? Or in separate modules on Linkedin ?

Comments are closed.