Documentation Retiring Sites from WordPress.com VIP

Retiring Sites from WordPress.com VIP

There may come a time when you might need to retire a site from WordPress.com VIP.

We ask that you notify the VIP team 30 days in advance. At the end of this period, we will normally remove the VIP status and revert the theme to the default theme at the time (Twenty Thirteen, Twenty Fourteen, etc…) As a non-VIP site, the custom theme, advertising, and other custom functions (including custom post types, taxonomy or shortcodes) will no longer be available.

It’s not a requirement to delete the site; you have a few more options regarding the site’s design and visibility:

  1. Make the site private (Settings > Privacy) The content is accessible to you and your team, but the URL and site’s content will not be available to the public.
  2. Delete the site You can ask us to delete the site to have it no longer be usable or accessible. We strongly suggest getting an export of the site’s content at Tools > Export before deletion.
  3. Use a free WordPress.com theme (Appearance > Theme) The design can be set to any of the free WordPress.com themes available in Appearance > Theme.
  4. Add Custom Design to the site (Upgrades > Custom Design) For a small yearly fee, you can modify any of the free WordPress.com themes CSS stylesheets to give the site a unique look.
  5. Add Domain Mapping (Upgrades > Domains) If you’d like to keep a custom domain mapped to your non-VIP site, you’ll need to purchase the Domain Mapping upgrade for a year. Contact the VIP team so we can help you with this and make sure you have no interruption of service.

Lastly, make sure you have a local copy of your theme checked out on SVN before VIP status is removed; the repository will not be available after the termination date passes.